17 June 2012

CunninLynguists - Oneirology 2CD [2011]


01 Predormitum (Prologue)
02 Darkness (Dream On) Ft Anna Wise
03 Phantasmata
04 Hard As They Come (Act I) Ft Freddie Gibbs
05 Murder (Act II) Ft Big K.R.I.T.
06 My Habit (I Havent Changed)
07 Get Ignorant
08 Shattered Dreams
09 Stars Shine Brightest (In The Darkest Of Night)
10 So As Not To Wake You (Interlude)
11 Enemies With Benefits Ft Tonedeff
12 Looking Back Ft Anna Wise
13 Dreams Ft Tunji and BJ The Chicago Kid
14 Hypnopomp (Epilogue) Ft Bianca Spriggs
15 Embers


01 Predormitum (Prologue) (Instrumental)
02 Darkness (Dream On) (Instrumental)
03 Hard As They Come (Act I) (Instrumental)
04 Murder (Act II) (Instrumental)
05 My Habit (I Havent Changed) (Instrumental)
06 Get Ignorant (Instrumental)
07 Shattered Dreams (Instrumental)
08 Stars Shine Brightest (In The Darkest Of Night) (Instrumental)
09 Enemies With Benefits (Instrumental)
10 Looking Back (Instrumental)
11 Dreams (Instrumental)
12 Embers (Instrumental)

Another banger from cunninlynguists, support the artist buy their music.
For Oneirology listeners, the cinematic special effects come in the form of Kno’s skillful production. Even for fans of lyricism, Kno’s beats sometimes overshadow the rhymes and his instrumentals sometimes drown the vocals out. Still, Kno creates a perfect ambiance for an album about dreams, using a mixture of dark, melancholy tones with whimsical pieces that work together to make this album worthy of listens on the strength of the production alone. He utilizes samples well, sequencing cuts almost seamlessly. For an example of this, listen to the first two songs, where Notorious B.I.G.’s vocals mix with the next song’s sample to complete a sentence that works with the theme. “It was all…It was all…Darkness.” Whether creating the perfect soundscape to spit over or showing off on an instrumental interlude, Kno is able to bring forth intriguing beats, as usual.

For an album with so much going for it, there are still some glaring issues here. Kno’s production, as addressed, sometimes takes over and drowns even his own rhymes out. At other points, it seems the album can get repetitive, stretching the concept out further than necessary. For instance, “Enemies with Benefits” seems like a throw-in and it almost hurts the emcees to have Tonedeff stealing the show on the track with that scene jacking verse. Sure, this may be nitpicking, but that may also be a testament to how high they’ve raised the bar for themselves.

In the end, Oneirology is an album that may serve as an alarm to those still unaware of Cunnin’s talent. This project combines creative sounds with inventive rhymes and stands as an example of how a great group can come together to craft a well-made album worthy of praise. Using their attention to detail on this release, they’ve managed to build on an already impressive catalog of music and it will not disappoint too many longtime supporters of the crew.